Ali’s Meanderings

Logical? Not so much….

Success!!!

(TMI post coming!!) 

Back story:  Regan has been using the potty at Cille’s for maybe the last 3-4 weeks.  She started out pooping.  It took about another 2-3 weeks for her to pee on the potty.  However she wouldn’t do either at home.  

Okay presently, since Sunday Regan has been wearing underwear (real, honest-to-goodness, underwear).  She has gotten to pick which ones she wants to wear everyday and everytime that she has had an accident.

Her accidents so far just consist of pee (thank you honey!).  Sunday we were getting coffee and she was running around outside and I think the whole concept just slipped her mind.  It wasn’t a lot, again very thankful.  I got her changed in the car and we did our next errand and we got home.  She napped in a pull-up, and I can’t remember what I did with her the rest of the day but I know that she peed before bedtime too.  I put her back in a pull up for bedtime.

Yesterday morning she said she wanted to wear underwear (I kind of felt just a little guilty doing that to Cille) and I just kept reminding her that she needed to go to the bathroom.  She didn’t have to tell Cille or anything but she needed to really think about it.  One accident yesterday, again it was outside, just pee, then in a pull-up for nap and Cille left her in a pull-up for the rest of the afternoon (I think I forgot to include the undies in the special bag).

So, again this morning, “I want to wear underwear” (I struggled more this morning because Cille has 5 other kids she watches and having to clean up after an accident is no fun).  Regan would go to the potty and sit for a few seconds then yell to Cille, “Nothing is coming out!”, then she would get off the potty and go back in a little bit later, Voila! she peed in the potty.  She did have another outdoor accident, but Cille did put her back in undies after naptime (pull-up).  Cille told me that Regan hadn’t pooped yet today so when I got home I might want to really keep the potty in the fore front of her mind.  So I asked Regan when we got home, “do you have to potty”, she shook her head no.  I told her that I was leaving the bathroom door open with the lid up for her to go when she needed too. 

Funnily enough, She would go to the bathroom when I wasn’t around.  She went in one time and didn’t go but I had to help her get her undies back on.  While I was pulling my dinner out of the oven she said “Look mommy” – sure enough, pee!  Whoo Hoo.  She got “Barbie” gum for that (Extra, colored pink).  Next she went in about a half hour later and said “Look” as I’m walking by, but by then I could hear the lovely sound of plopping.  She got a lollipop for that one!!! 

She peed one more time before bed for me.  4-m & m’s!!  Again, she waited until I wasn’t in the bathroom – I think I have found her pattern!!!  Which I’m perfectly fine with just as long as she goes!!!

She is 3 yo and almost 4 months – what were the ages of your child/ren when they figured out this great concept??  If yours isn’t – believe me, if they are around this age, it is going to happen really soon for you!!!!

January 9, 2008 Posted by | Regan-isms | , | 6 Comments